hotelsattractionshistoric irelandCastles Historic Ireland

County Offaly, Republic of Ireland

Birr Castle, County Offaly
Birr Castle, County Offaly

County Offaly, originally titled King's county with its connections with King Phillip II of Spain, is situated in the centre of Ireland neighboured by the counties of Roscommon and Westmeath in the north, Kildare to the east, Laois to the south, Tipperary to the south west and County Galway to the west.

The Slieve Bloom Mountains can be found in the south of Offaly. The beautiful countryside with the scent of heather in the air is a popular region for walking and climbing.

The south is also famous for the Georgian town of Birr, probably most famous for the magnificent 17th century Birr Gardens and Science Centre.

The county town of Tullamore is the home of Charleville Forest castle together with the distillers of Irish Mist and Tullamore Dew Whiskeys.

There are many good quality hotels in County Offaly to rest your weary feet including The County Arms (Birr), Brosna Lodge (Banagher-on-the-Shannon) and Kinnity Castle (Kinnity) to mention just a few.

Where to stay and things to do in County Offaly

Hotels | Places to Visit | Gardens | Castles | Heritage Centres | Tourist Information Centres | County Offaly Towns

Selected County Offaly hotels - Please Refresh for another random Hotel list

Brosna Lodge Hotel, Banagher-on-the-Shannon
Kinnitty Castle, Kinnitty
County Arms Hotel, Birr
County Arms Hotel , Birr

Click for More hotels in County Offaly

Click For List of all Ireland Counties

Explore County Offaly Towns

Banagher-on-the-Shannon | Birr | Kinnitty | Shannonbridge | Tullamore |

County Links

Republic of Ireland

County Carlow | County Cavan | County Clare | County Cork | County Donegal | County Dublin | County Galway | County Kerry | County Kildare | County Kilkenny | County Laois | County Leitrim | County Limerick | County Longford | County Louth | County Mayo | County Meath | County Offaly | County Roscommon | County Sligo | County Tipperary | County Waterford | County Westmeath | County Wexford | County Wicklow | Dublin City |

Northern Ireland

Belfast | County Antrim | County Armagh | County Coleraine | County Down | County Fermanagh | County Londonderry | County Monaghan | County Omagh | County Tyrone | Derry City |