hotelsattractionshistoric irelandCastles Historic Ireland

Abbeys and Priories in County Wexford, Republic of Ireland.

Kellys Resort Hotel at Rosslare
Kellys Resort Hotel at Rosslare

The county of Wexford sits in the South East of Ireland with the counties of Wicklow, Carlow, Kilkenny and Waterford as its neighbours.

The county is famous for its glorious sandy coastline and together with County Waterford is known as 'The Sunny South East' which makes it a popular holiday destination for the Irish and those beyond. You can visit he oldest lighthouse in Europe which stands on the Hook Peninsula and you can imbibe in a pint of Guinness with the locals in the pubs nearby.

As in many parts of Ireland, there are an abundance of golf courses whilst mountaineering, hill walking, fishing and riding are all popular pastimes in this county.

There is an annual Opera festival in Wexford Town every Autumn and at New Ross you can visit The John F. Jennedy Arboretum or see the ancestral home of JFK, Bobby and Ted Kennedy.

Heritage sites and historic attractions worth visiting:- The Irish National Heritage Park at Ferrycarrig, Dunbrody Abbey and Visitor Centre at Campile, Abercromby Monument at Carrigdaggin, Westgate Heritage Tower, The Wexford Wildfowl Reserve in Wexford, Tintern Abbey in New Ross, Ballyhack Castle in Ballyhack.

Abbeys and Priories in County Wexford

New Ross
Tintern Abbey

Wexford Town
Selskar Abbey

Click for More County Wexford Information

Click For List of all Ireland Counties

Where to stay and things to do in County Wexford

Hotels | Bed and Breakfast | Places to Visit | Castles | National Parks | Weddings and Conferences | Abbeys and Priories |

County Links

Republic of Ireland

County Carlow | County Cavan | County Clare | County Cork | County Donegal | County Dublin | County Galway | County Kerry | County Kildare | County Kilkenny | County Laois | County Leitrim | County Limerick | County Longford | County Louth | County Mayo | County Meath | County Offaly | County Roscommon | County Sligo | County Tipperary | County Waterford | County Westmeath | County Wexford | County Wicklow | Dublin City |

Northern Ireland

Belfast | County Antrim | County Armagh | County Coleraine | County Down | County Fermanagh | County Londonderry | County Monaghan | County Omagh | County Tyrone | Derry City |