hotelsattractionshistoric irelandCastles Historic Ireland

Hotels in County Waterford, Republic of Ireland.


County Waterford is situated on the beautiful south coast of Ireland with County Wexford to the east, Counties Kilkenny and Tipperary to the north and County Cork to the west.

It is an extremely popular county for golf, angling, walking, water sports and equestrian enthusiasts.

The county town of Waterford was originally Ireland's first city, discovered by the marauding Vikings in the 10th century and is probably most famous these days for its fine crystal.

Waterford Crystal was founded in 1793 and has become famous across the globe since.

Some of this fine crystal can be viewed in the historic quays of Irelandís oldest city in a superbly renovated Granary. Waterford Treasures Museum brings to life the last thousand years of Irish history, using original artefacts from the Viking period up to the present day, in a breathtaking and dynamic modern exhibition.

A further Waterford connection can be found if you travel 14 miles out of Waterford to Portlaw and visit Curraghmore, the magnificent home of The Marquis of Waterford and his ancestors since 1170. There is an outstanding Arboretum and the interior of house contains exceptionally fine plasterwork. The grounds include a bridge built in 1205 for King John to cross River Clodagh and a unique shell grotto built and personally decorated by Catherine Poer, Countess of Tyrone in 1754.

Other historic attractions and heritage sites include:- Waterford Church and Tower, Dromana Gate, Barony of Gaultier heritage Centre, Ardmore Cathedral, Knockeen Neolithic Mausoleum, Ardmore Castle, Balllynageeragh Dolmen, Reginald's Tower Museum, St. Declan's Oratory, Saint Declan's Stone, Ardmore Church And Round Tower, West Waterford Vineyards, Father O'Donnell's Well.

Hotels in County Waterford

Click for More County Waterford Information

Click For List of all Ireland Counties

Where to stay and things to do in County Waterford

Hotels | Bed and Breakfast | Places to Visit | Heritage Centres |

County Links

Republic of Ireland

County Carlow | County Cavan | County Clare | County Cork | County Donegal | County Dublin | County Galway | County Kerry | County Kildare | County Kilkenny | County Laois | County Leitrim | County Limerick | County Longford | County Louth | County Mayo | County Meath | County Offaly | County Roscommon | County Sligo | County Tipperary | County Waterford | County Westmeath | County Wexford | County Wicklow | Dublin City |

Northern Ireland

Belfast | County Antrim | County Armagh | County Coleraine | County Down | County Fermanagh | County Londonderry | County Monaghan | County Omagh | County Tyrone | Derry City |